A Black Girls Story

This is a black-girls story

a fat-girls Blues

for colored-girls

down in the Delta or

in the Mississippi/Louisiana bayo

I wanna tell your story

to yell your story

from roof-tops and

upon stages

to show how large

my rage is…(cause black-pearl)

black-pearl…(precious little-girl)

precious little-girl…(you’ve been, in the backgroung)

you’ve been in the background…(much too long)

much too long.

 

They think that they know you

but they don’t!

 

The dimenstions of you

are sooo deep

like a prism

I radiate the knowledge

you have within

all that I’ve gained

from you…and

like onyx or black pearls “precious little-girl”

your beauty shines within me.

 

This is a true story

of all our pain and glory…and

they will never tell your story

unveil your strengths

sing your praises

like I do

they will never

really know you…(black-pearl)

black-pearl…(precious little-girl)

precious little-girl…

 

Addie Mae Collins 1949-1963

Denise McNair 1951-1963

Cynthia Wesley 1949-1963

Carol Robertson  1949-1963

 

(Cause you’ve been, in the background)

you’ve been in the background…(much too long)

much too long.

 

You  were part of a larger plan

some things, others will never understand.

 

So I have made it my mission

to get the word out

to tell them all about

your life

your struggles.

 

They will never tell the truth about how you died…

 

Bessie Smith

Empress of the Blues

a multifaceted and complex

independent Woman

in control of your own life!

 

My strength

my courage

my knowledge

all come from you

a gieft…that still lives within

I salute your hard work…(black-pearl)

black-pearl…(precious little-girl)

precious little-girl…and they

 

Will never tell your story

the true story

you carry within

of that awful night

when they shot and killed your man

Betty, Merle and Coretta Scott.

 

So I stand before you

I’ll retell it to them

for you/with you.

 

Oh the tears

you must have

CRIED…

 

The bitternes

the anger

you held

INSIDE.

 

This is for

Miss Evers and the Boys

lives…she wanted to save.

 

This is for

our ancestors that were SLAVES.

 

This is for

those that died

in the Middle Passage.

 

For husbandless wives and

the fatherless daughters

that were RAPED.

 

for all the years of Disrespect!

 

This is for

all the Mammys and Maids

for House Servants and Cooks

for Nigga winches being SOLD

this is our story 400 years old.

 

I stand before you

ready and waiting

to retell

your story

our story

HER-STORY…

 

I’ll retell it

to them

for you/with you.

 

this is a story that needs to be told…

 

They think that they know you

but the deepness of you

is much too deep

for them to comprehend.

 

The dimensions of you are

like a prism and I radiate

the knowledge you have within

all that I’ve gained from you…and

like onyx or black-pearls…(precious little-girl)

your beauty shines within me.

 

The deepness of you is much too GREAT!

 

So I want to tell your story

to yell your story

from roof-tops and

upon stages

to show how large

my RAGE is…

 

Cause this is a

Black-Girls Story

a fat-girls Blues

for colored-girls

down in the Delta or

in the Mississippi/Louisiana bayou.

 

(Cause Black-Girl)

Black-Girl…(precious little-girl)

precious little-girl…(you’ve been, in the background)

you’ve been in the background…(much too long)

much too long.

 

“Let me put you back where you belong.”

 

-Terri A. Durden

03-03-05/3:00pm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A Black Girls Story

  1. Yes, put me back my sister…move me forward….allow me to shine…review my mind…let us go beyond the “look” of what I lost or what they took…how they feel I no longer care…my beauty is way beyond compare…my arms are STRONG….to protect my own…my HEART is open…so I’m never alone…I have sista’s so strong like you…that love and respect me whatever we do…true to be who I be…real LOVE is all we see.

Leave a Reply

